Snow day!

Finally!  A storm that was not on a weekend!  I think it’s safe to say I’m snowed in.

snow day!

There’s only about 6 inches on the ground right now but it started to snow again and we could get up to another foot!  Luckily my job sent out an alert last night that we would be closed today so I could go to bed without wondering if I was going to have work or not.

I figure now is a good time to post about some of the food I’ve been eating lately.  I’m not good at daily food posting like a lot of bloggers are!  For breakfast today (and my newest fave breakfast) was quinoa flakes with half banana cooked in with ground flax seeds/quarter scoop vanilla protein powder/cinnamon/almond butter.  Yes almond butter instead of peanut butter.  I’m doing a little experiment this week and eliminating peanuts to see if they affect my sinus issues.  They were one of the foods that my food allergy testing showed I was mildy allergic too but my Dr. said you would just know if you had a nut allergy.  I figure I’ll try eliminating them just to make sure.  My first taste of almond butter the other day left me less than impressed but it’s growing on me-sorta like the quinoa flakes did!  That happens to me a lot so I try to give foods a shot even if I don’t LOVE it at first.  And oddly enough this taste kind of like cashews to me.

cashews are you hiding in there?

That this almond butter is sweetened with organic unrefined cane sugar but with 3g per 2 tablespoons is that so bad?  I don’t know if I will ever like un-sweetened nut butters but I’m not going to make myself crazy over it.

I just had some lunch and it was a Jennie-O Lean Savory Seasoned turkey burger and healthified creamed spinach.  The turkey burgers are a total lifesaver sometimes and what I consider a convenience food.  Sometimes I want/need some protein as part of a meal but don’t really feel like making something.  OK maybe this is more like a lot of the time. These turkey burgers are actually really good because they are already seasoned and I just eat them with a bit of ketchup, no bun required.  They’re also great to “cook” ahead of time and eat cold (which is what I did today) and because of this are good to bring to work for lunch.  With 160 calories, 0g carbs, and 18 grams of protein I think they are a great find.

find them in your grocer's freezer

Now onto the healthified creamed spinach.  For this I tweaked a recipe that someone posted on a fitness board and I’ve been eating it a lot lately because it’s so good yet so easy.

For this you will need:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      about a 1/8 of an onion, chopped

1/2 teaspoon chopped garlic (the garlic is a good addition but I’ve also made it without and it’s still yummy)

2-3 cups frozen spinach

2 Laughing Cow Light cheese wedges

milk

parmesan cheese, salt, and pepper to taste

First I saute the onion and garlic in some cooking spray while defrosting the spinach in the microwave.

onions and garlic, my favorite

Once the onions are translucent I add the thawed spinach, Laughing cow wedges, salt, pepper, parmesan cheese (I like at least a tablespoon) and a little bit of milk.

mixing everything up

I just add a little bit of milk at a time to make a creamy consistency, you do not need a lot.  Then just sort of chop up the Laughing cow to break it up into smaller pieces so it will melt and mix everything together.  Add more milk if it looks too dry.  It’s not actually going to look that creamy but don’t worry it will taste creamy.

the final product

This makes 2 side dish servings or one large serving.

mmmm...lunch

I know that turkey burger doesn’t look too appetizing there but trust me it is!  That was half the spinach, but don’t be fooled, I then went back and ate the rest because I was still hungry.

must have been good!

Even my mother who is not a fan of a lot of the stuff I try out really likes this so give it a try!

10 responses to “Snow day!

  1. OMG, that healthy creamed spinach looks amazing! Might have to try that (I’m a terrible cook, but it looks easy enough).

  2. haha I love when people take pics of their food, then an emptyu bowl…then we KNOW its good stuff 🙂

    I love spinach, Its so good mixed with a lauging cow wedge!!! liek healthified creamy spinach

  3. Wow, lots of snow!!! You need some kombucha to survive. haha! Try one of the berry flavors first like cranberry! You can do it. 🙂

  4. Wow look at all that pretty snow!!

    Your breakfast sounds so yummy!

  5. Oh, and I was going to ask you what you do in terms of washing your face pre and post workout. I seem to be breaking out and I wonder if it’s my workout and face washing routine?

    • Hey April! Do you workout with makeup on your face? What is your routine like now? I use a micellar cleanser pre-workout because I workout right after work so have makeup on my face. I LOVE this one…
      http://www.vichyusa.com/_us/_en/shop_products/facecare/calming_cleansing_solution.htm?
      Some CVS stores carry this line now which is where I get mine. You can search on the CVS website to see which stores carry the line. Before this I just used face cleansing wipes, I like the Comodynes brand. After my workout I go home and shower but if I start to break out (which I am now) I may use the same cleanser right after my work out too to wipe the sweat off my face. I also use a treatment product after I wash my face at night to keep clogs and breakouts at bay. I have a couple of things I like if you are interested is something like that let me know!

  6. I’d love to hear about what you like! I usually workout with my bare minerals foundation and some mascara! I’ve been washing my face before but not after..hmm..

Leave a Reply

