Raining dogs and dogs

I love coming home to my dog Brutus, I do not love coming home to pee on my bed.

The culprit:

the guilty party

How can I stay mad at that!??!!?  Not possible.

To be fair he rarely does this, this is probably maybe the 2nd or 3rd time in the 2 years I’ve had him. It’s been raining pretty much all day here and he HATES the rain.  My dog-sitter (aka mom) said he would not go out for a long time.  Well we know where he peed!  My sheets and blankets are in the wash now AGAIN, since I just washed everything YESTERDAY.  I only have one set of sheets so I have to wash/dry them before I can go to bed.  Note to self: buy more sheets.

I’m now snacking on Greek yogurt (Chobani 0%) with my new favorite toppings-shredded coconut, chopped walnuts, and honey.  YUM.  I actually like the 2% way better but the individual size 0% ones were on sale for $0.77 (!!!) so I got those.  What I really need to do is take a ride to Trader Joe’s and stock up on their Greek yogurt which is way more budget-friendly than the Chobani when it’s not on sale.

Some other eats today included quinoa protein pancakes, chicken breaded with cornflake crumbs, grapefruit, mixed greens with some black bean/avocado, Smart food cheddar popcorn, string cheese, more of the same chicken, roasted cauliflower, and roasted yams with apples.  According to fitday.com I’m at 137.8 grams of protein for today.  Not bad.

Today’s workout: NROLW Stage 4, workout A4

Front squat/push press-3 sets 8, 50 pounds  (I did these as ass to grass or “ATG” squats)

Alternating sets

Step-ups-3 sets 8, 50 pounds

Dumbbell one-point row-3 sets 8, 30 pound dumbbells

Alternating sets

Static lunge, rear foot elevated-3 sets 8, 50 pounds

Push-up-3 sets 8  (did these as “T” push ups)

Alternating sets

Planks-3 sets, 1st held for 70 seconds, 2nd and 3rd held for 60 seconds  (I’m supposed to hold for 120 seconds but have not yet been able to do that yet.  In previous stages I could hold for up to 120 seconds but have not been able to do that in this stage.   I’m assuming its because this stage is harder and my muscles are more worn out by the time I get to these.)

Horizontal wood chop-3 sets 8, 10 pounds, done on stability ball

That is the end of the new rules workout but I did a bit more on my own.  I then did 3 sets of 10 bent over reverse flies with 10 pound plates.  This is technically against the “rules” of the program but I’m finding that I’m not getting as much rear delt/tricep definition as I would like.  I don’t know if I’m doing something wrong or if it will all show up in the end but I think adding one more exercise won’t hurt.

Last but not least and also not part of the NROLW workout- 20 minutes on the elliptical set on the gluteal/high incline setting.  3 minutes at levels 1, 2, 3,  followed by a steady climb at one minute each at levels 8, 9, 10, 11, then 2 minutes level 3, another steady climb one minute each levels 8, 9, 10, 11, another 2 minutes level 3, finishing with 4 minutes levels 9, 10, 11, 12.

Whew.  That was a tough workout but I felt great afterwards.  I will admit I was contemplating not lifting today and just doing some cardio because I still don’t feel all sinusy but I told myself if I started and didn’t feel good like Saturday I would stop and just do some cardio.  But I felt pretty good once I started and got into the “workout zone” right away today.  Plus if I didn’t lift today it would mess up my schedule for the week and I would only get 2 days of lifting in instead of 3.  So yay me for today!

Leave a Reply

