R.I.P. Kris Kringle

Ahhh Sunday nights, such a sad time for many.  I think Sunday nights are in some ways worse then Mondays because you have that feeling of dread Monday is coming boooooooooooooo.  AnywayI thought I would finally post about yesterday’s workout before I get settled in to watch Big Love.

But first let me explain this posts title.  Quick Chek (do they have these in other parts of the country that aren’t NJ?  not sure) had this amazing Kris Kringle coffee out for Christmas but unfortunately I didn’t discover it until about a week or so before Christmas.  The flavor included vanilla, coconut, and cocoa…in other words AMAZING.  A couple of days after Christmas I went in and they still had it but one of the employees (who knew of my love for the Kris Kringle) alerted me that there were only 2 bags left and let me buy them.  I rationed it out but finished the last bit of it yesterday (Saturday) morning.  Sadness.  The rest of my breakfast included quinoa flakes with banana, chunky peanut butter, and cinnamon.  This was my first quinoa flake experience, not sure if I’m a huge fan yet but it was OK.  Only took 90 seconds to cook (after the water boiled) but it was a little soft and mushy for my taste.  The only way I like oatmeal is when they are a little chewy still and not a bowl of mush.  I still managed to eat most of the bowl with only a few bites left. Then I was off to the gym.

Saturday’s workout:  NROLW Stage 4, workout B3

Wide-grip deadlift -3 sets of 8, 1st set 115 pounds, 2nd and 3rd 125 pounds

Alternating sets

Bulgarian split squat- 3 sets 8, 50 pounds

Underhand-grip lat pulldown-3 sets 8, 85 pounds

Alternating sets

Reverse lunge from box with forward reach-3 sets 8, 15 pound dumbbells

Dumbbell prone Cuban snatch-3 sets 8, 10 pound dumbbells

Alternating sets

Swiss ball crunch-3 sets 8, 25 pound plate

Reverse crunch-3 sets 8

Pike on stability ball-3 sets 8

Own set-prone cobra-3 times,1st held 90 seconds, 2nd and 3rd 60 seconds

I had 90 seconds rest between each set.  Except for the ab stuff I usually do the 3 exercises in a row and then rest and repeat.

Last but not least…15 minutes HIIT: 3 minute warm-up at level 1 then 2.  Intervals were one minute at level 5, 2 minute recovery level 1, one minute level 6, 2 minute recovery level 1, one minute level 7, 2 minute recovery level 1, one minute level 8, 2 minutes recovery level 1.

Now this is a pretty hard workout but for some reason yesterday it was really hard.  This was my 3rd time doing this exact workout and it was by far the hardest.  I was all headache-y and kept getting really dizzy.  I even bought a Powerade Zero mid-workout because I thought the bit of salt and electrolytes would help.  I at first thought it was because this is period week but for the rest of the day and today I’m not feeling so hot and have that “I’m getting a sinus infection” feeling UGH.  The whole workout took me longer than it usually does because I took longer breaks between the sets of exercises that don’t alternate with each other. I came home and had a protein shake made with vanilla protein powder, half a cup of 2% milk, half a cup water, and half a cup blueberries.  Also had a slice of millet toast.

Now I’m trying to fight a full blown sinus infection with my usual arsenal of Mucinex, Sudafed, Nasonex, and nasal irrigation with Nasaline.

not as scary as it looks

Hmm mine didn’t come with that cool protective case, now I want that.  Anyway let’s hope all this works.

2 responses to “R.I.P. Kris Kringle

  1. Jamie,

    Looking forward to following your blog! Thanks for visiting mine. The brown rice tortillas are great for baking or frying (like quesadillas), but when I eat them I always heat them in the microwave first to soften them. Usually 10-20 seconds and then they are good to go!
    Cheers,
    LC

    • Hey Lindsay! Looking forward to following your blog as well. Looks like you will give me lots of idea for wheat-free products and food ideas! I am going to try experimenting with those brown rice tortillas again!

Leave a Reply

